

Fact sheet

Double the First Home Owner Grant for regional Victoria

About the initiative

For contracts signed between 1 July 2017 and 30 June 2020, the First Home Owner Grant (FHOG) for regional new home purchases will double to \$20,000. The increase will help first home buyers to purchase in their local community and will help support construction and employment.

How will it work?

FHOG is currently a \$10,000 grant for first home buyers that purchase new homes throughout Victoria. This initiative increases the FHOG to \$20,000 for regional new home purchases.

First home buyers of new homes in metropolitan Melbourne will continue to receive the \$10,000 FHOG.

As with the current arrangements, the FHOG will only be available to purchases valued up to \$750,000.

The increased FHOG will be applicable to contracts signed from 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2020, at which time, the Government will assess the impact of the policy on first home buyers and construction in regional area.

Who will qualify?

- The increased FHOG will be available for regional first home buyer purchasers of new homes valued up to \$750,000.
- The purchaser and the purchaser's partner must be first home buyers, consistent with the definition under the *First Home Owner Grant Act 2000*.
- The purchased property must be used as the purchaser(s)'s primary place of residence for a continuous period of 12 months, commencing within 12 months of possession of the purchased property.
- Prospective first home buyers can contact the State Revenue Office on 13 21 61 to find out more about their eligibility.
- The list of regional local councils where first home buyer purchases are eligible for the \$20,000 FHOG is provided in Table 1, below.





Fact sheet

Table 1: regional councils where first home buyers will qualify for the \$20,000 FHOG

Alpine Shire Council Ararat Rural City Council Ballarat City Council Bass Coast Shire Council Baw Baw Shire Council Benalla Rural City Council Buloke Shire Council **Campaspe Shire Council** Central Goldfields Shire Council **Colac Otway Shire Council Corangamite Shire Council** East Gippsland Shire Council Gannawarra Shire Council **Glenelg Shire Council** Golden Plains Shire Council Greater Bendigo City Council Greater Geelong City Council Greater Shepparton City Council Hepburn Shire Council Hindmarsh Shire Council Horsham Rural City Council Indigo Shire Council Latrobe City Council Loddon Shire Council

Macedon Ranges Shire Council **Mansfield Shire Council** Mildura Rural City Council **Mitchell Shire Council Moira Shire Council Moorabool Shire Council Mount Alexander Shire Council** Moyne Shire Council Murrindindi Shire Council Northern Grampians Shire Council Pyrenees Shire Council Borough of Queenscliffe South Gippsland Shire Council Southern Grampians Shire Council Strathbogie Shire Council Surf Coast Shire Council Swan Hill Rural City Council Towong Shire Council Wangaratta Rural City Council Warrnambool City Council Wellington Shire Council West Wimmera Shire Council Wodonga City Council Yarriambiack Shire Council

